Help Us Make a Difference
Learn More

Allergy Friendly Girl Scout Cookies

Girl Scout cookie season is upon us! From January to April, it’s that time of year when we stock up on those delicious treats that support an amazing cause. But for those managing food allergies or intolerances, figuring out which Girl Scout cookies are safe to enjoy can feel like a tricky task. But not to worry, we’re breaking it all down for you!

Which Girl Scout Cookies are Allergy Friendly?

Navigating the ingredient list of Girl Scout cookies can be a bit overwhelming, especially when dealing with multiple allergies. Below are the most common allergens–and how each cookie measures up!

It’s very important to note that Girl Scout Cookies are prepared in two separate facilities, which can vary in their methods and ingredients. While they follow standardized processes for each cookie variety, you may want to double-check ingredients, depending on which facility is noted on your cookie packaging: ABC Bakers or Little Brownie Bakers. You can also contact your local Girl Scout council to find out which licensed baker supplies your local council with cookies.

Gluten Free

While Girl Scouts do offer gluten-free cookie options, they can vary by location. For 2025, the following cookie varieties are widely available and certified gluten-free:

  • Caramel Chocolate Chip
  • Toffee-Tastic

Avoid

  • Adventurefuls
  • Toast-Yay
  • Lemonades / Lemon-Ups
  • Thin Mints
  • Peanut Butter Patties / Tagalongs
  • Caramel deLites
  • Peanut Butter Sandwich / Do-si-dos
  • Trefoils
  • Girl Scout S’mores

Unfortunately, most Girl Scout cookies are not gluten-free due to the use of wheat in their recipes.

Dairy Free

If you’re avoiding dairy, it’s important to know that many Girl Scout cookies contain milk-based ingredients or are produced in facilities where cross contamination can occur. However, there’s one option that’s dairy-free–and a fan favorite!

  • Thin Mints

Avoid

These varieties include dairy in their ingredient lists:

  • Caramel deLites
  • Peanut Butter Sandwich / Do-si-dos
  • Trefoils

Other varieties do not list dairy in their ingredients, but are produced in shared facilities.

Egg Free

All cookie varieties are listed as free of eggs on their ingredient list!

But here’s where things get tricky:

  • If your cookies were produced by Little Brownie Bakers, all varieties are produced in a shared facility where cross-contamination could occur.
  • If your cookies were produced by ABC Bakers, you can safely enjoy:
    • Adventurefuls
    • Toast-Yay
    • Lemonades
    • Thin Mints
    • Trefoils
    • Caramel deLites
    • Peanut Butter Sandwich
    • Caramel Chocolate Chip

Avoid

  • If your cookies were produced by Little Brownie Bakers, you’ll likely want to avoid all varieties due to the possibility of cross-contamination.
  • If your cookies were produced by ABC Bakers, you can safely enjoy all varieties, except:
  • Peanut Butter Patties

Crustacean Free

Good news—this isn’t a common concern with cookies! All Girl Scout cookies are naturally crustacean-free, so you can indulge without worry in this category.

Avoid

  • None—hooray for this allergy-free category!

Tree Nut Free

For those managing tree nut allergies, you’ll need to carefully check the labels. While many Girl Scout cookies do not contain tree nuts as an ingredient, cross-contamination is possible depending on manufacturing.

Avoid

This variety lists tree nuts as a primary ingredient:

  • Samoas

These varieties may contain traces of tree nuts, so exercise caution:

  • Peanut Butter Patties / Tagalongs
  • Peanut Butter Sandwich / Do-si-dos

Peanut Free

While many Girl Scout cookie varieties are peanut-free, cross-contamination is a possibility. The safety of the cookies depends on how sensitive your peanut allergy is. This is the only variety listed as peanut-free (by ABC Bakers):

  • Caramel Chocolate Chip

Avoid

These varieties list peanuts as a key ingredient:

  • Peanut Butter Patties / Tagalongs
  • Peanut Butter Sandwich / Do-si-dos

Most others should also be avoided due to the possibility of cross-contamination.

Soy Free

Soy is a common ingredient in baked goods, and most Girl Scout cookie varieties use soy lecithin. This is the only variety listed as soy-free (ABC Bakers):

  • Caramel Chocolate Chip

Avoid

  • All other varieties contain soy

Sesame Free

Sesame is not commonly used in Girl Scout cookies, so this is another allergy category with fewer concerns. However, always check for cross-contact warnings if sesame is a concern.

Avoid

  • None explicitly contain sesame as a listed ingredient.

Allergy Friendly Cookies – Available All Year Round!

If you’re looking for treats that are allergy-friendly all year long, look no further than The Difference Baker! We ship delicious, allergen-free baked goods nationwide, in addition to serving up locally in Northern Virginia. All of our products are certified free from gluten, peanut, tree nut, soy, fish, sesame and crustacean. Visit our online shop for everything from cookies to breads to desserts that can be safely indulged in!

X